Skip navigation

New to the game: question about campaigns length

Forum NavigationHome > Forum Index > Hegemony > New to the game: question about campaigns length
Level 6 Human hoplite
Alignment: Chaotic good
Posted on December 12, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Hello there
I'm new to the game (in fact I havent even bought it yet, but will probably do tomorrow)
My question concerns the sandbox campaign's length.
Is there a time limit in it, or some date/year that you cant pass, something that would force you to stop playing at some point?
How is the game if you "turtle" and ropeplay it, during hours? Does the game remain stable? Becomes dull? Or is it simply undoable?
Finally, at those who like to play that kind of "eternal campaigns", what's your longest campaign?
Thanks a lot for your replies.
Regards,
Kryptó

Level 7 Human gamer
Alignment: Lawful good
Posted on December 12, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Hello there
I'm new to the game (in fact I havent even bought it yet, but will probably do tomorrow)
My question concerns the sandbox campaign's length.
Is there a time limit in it, or some date/year that you cant pass, something that would force you to stop playing at some point?
How is the game if you "turtle" and ropeplay it, during hours? Does the game remain stable? Becomes dull? Or is it simply undoable?
Finally, at those who like to play that kind of "eternal campaigns", what's your longest campaign?
Thanks a lot for your replies.
Regards,
Kryptó

Hegemony is not Total War! As discussed in the topic "Is it possible to lose a campaign?", the AI will probably not attack you in your homelands except for some raiding, but "only" try to defend and recapture their own lands. So it is not really a game for "turtlers" (and roleplaying it is also quite difficult - Philip of Macedon has governed Macedon and conquered lands for 23 years - well I wouldn't try that in Hegemony Gold...)