Skip navigation

Keeping track of it all

Forum NavigationHome > Forum Index > Hegemony > Keeping track of it all
Level 6 Human gamer
Alignment: True neutral
Posted on June 17, 2012 at 5:29 pm

So I've just started getting into the game. I love the time period, and I'm thoroughly impressed with the game's treatment of it. I'm having a lot of trouble keeping track of things, though, and I wonder if I'm missing some aspect of the interface that's supposed to be making this easier. It's difficult, even with only a dozen cities, to manage where my forces are, where they're drawing reinforcements from, and whether they have experience points that need to be spent. I can only imagine this becoming a hopeless mess as I expand further.

Worse, though, is the incredibly frustrating issue of managing an interesting battle only to zoom out and discover that while I was busy I've lost three cities. I don't mind getting my butt kicked, and being as I'm new at this I kind of expect that, but it drives me crazy (and makes me quit playing the game and come to the forum) to be losing because I wasn't informed I was even under threat. Since the "you're being attacked" indicators at the top are flashing for the battle I'm paying attention to, is there ANY way to find out you're being attacked elsewhere without just having to abandon tactics and leave the game constantly zoomed out?

Any help with all this would be greatly appreciated. It's a really cool game, and I'd like to not suck at it. :)

Level 21 Extraplanar gamer
Posted on June 17, 2012 at 7:33 pm

We're still trying to figure out ways to make it easier to keep track of an expanding world, while not losing the core Hegemony concept of one-giant-continuous-map.

For now, set the middle alert tab, the one named, "Units, Buildings and Cities Under Attack", to auto-pause when anything you own is attacked. If you mouse over the alert, the check box to enable auto-pause appears...