Skip navigation

Feature wishlist: for Gold and Rome

Forum NavigationHome > Forum Index > Hegemony > Feature wishlist: for Gold and Rome
Level 6 Human gamer
Alignment: True neutral
Posted on May 14, 2012 at 6:52 pm

I'm new to Hegemony, and so far I've been really impressed by the amount of innovation from such a small team. I especially appreciate how it runs on my desktop and laptop equally smoothly, and I really hope it will still be the case for Rome.

That said, there are some things that, IMO, really hold it back. I'm sure many of these have been suggested before, but here's my 2 cents anyway:

Interface:
-Hotkey customization: seriously, in this day and age?
-There are altogether only around 3 alert sounds, making it somewhat useless. At the very least, the 3 different basic alerts (spotting enemy, under attack, out of food) should have different alert sounds.
-With a huge map and battles on multiple front, the slow panning/zooming (when you double-tap an alert or a unit hotkey) becomes very tedious. There should be a setting to make the pan/zoom much faster or, better yet, instantaneous.
-Likewise, the camera rotates automatically when it pans/zooms. This may look more dramatic, but serves no practical purpose. There should be an option to turn this off.
-Between the "real world" map and the "paper map", there is an level of zoom where you can see neither the real units or the chess pieces. This is useless and should be gotten rid off.
-It would also be nice if, like Sins of a Solar Empire and Elemental: War of Magic, you could customize the zoom level at which the paper map takes effect.
-The game allows waypoint queuing, which is great, but for some reason it doesn't work for queuing multiple actions. This would be very helpful for a game like this.