Skip navigation

worms and trojans oh my!

Forum NavigationHome > Forum Index > General Chatter > worms and trojans oh my!
Level 14 Human bookkeeper
Alignment: True neutral
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posted on August 15, 2005 at 8:50 pm

not that i'm around that much, and not that i ever play TM online perse, but over the next month or so, i'm going to be rather scarce. i need the time to heal since i'm rather bitter at windows right now.

i was wondering what was going to push me over the edge... make me abandon the windows OS for my home use and go start using apples and linux full time at home...

now kids, don't try this at home...
in my entiire computing life, i never had one virus or other nasty program, i always tried to be careful about those things. over the last year, it seems like all i do for family and friends is help them get rid of this stuff. well, i got sloppy, thought i had completely cleaned up a friend's computer, saved off the data and some drivers, wiped it, went to reinstall windows, hooked it into my LAN, and freakin aye...
worm.tenga.A aka w32.tenga.3666
it attaches itself to every single executable file on your computer. every single freaking .exe file will get infected. then it looks for other computers to do the same thing to them, and it doesn't matter if you religously make backups.

i know what happened, the trojan was still on those driver files that i saved off, the drivers did not work, just said the file was corrupted, so after one tries a couple of them and they all say "corrupted", then one notices a dl.exe file in an odd place... do some research... freakin aye... trojan... better go check my computer... ah freakin aye...

at this moment, i could live the rest of my life without touching a windows computer. i might think differenty in a month or so, but in the mean tiime, it's linux and apple for me exclusively.

i know, my virus definitions were not up to the last minute updated, but they were very recent... arghhh... get an external hard drive, make your backups to that, then keep it turned off and unplugged until you want to update your backup to it.

Level 14 Human gamer
Alignment: Chaotic evil
Posted on August 15, 2005 at 9:03 pm

I do that religiously. Never let your guard down. Even calculators can get infected (yes, my calc actually had that happen once... lol).

Level 15 Human gamer
Alignment: True neutral
Posted on August 17, 2005 at 8:13 pm

Come back harmless...we need you to play

Level 14 Human bookkeeper
Alignment: True neutral
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posted on August 17, 2005 at 11:26 pm

virus on a calculator... man... if that happened to me, you would soon find me living in some crude log cabin in the backwoods of montana writing manifestos against the governement on the back of tree bark... lol.

anyway... though it might seem obvious to some, just thought i would mention this... since i host many different files, for both TM and windows programs, on my various web sites, those files are completely unaffected. the web hosting companies are in different parts of the US, from me, and those files have been on the web servers for years. in fact, once i get my linux computer moved upstairs, i am going to redownload my websites from those web servers so i can have a pristine, local copy of my websites again, and all of the files that i have on them.

toodles,
harmless
[[ who is not quite as bitter today vs 3 days ago ]]

Level 14 Human gamer
Alignment: Chaotic evil
Posted on August 17, 2005 at 11:39 pm

Nah... viruses on a calc are easy to get rid of... just reset the entire calc! It's as effective as an infinite amount of nukes on data! :mrgreen: (Plus it adds stability...) If you ever want to see some of my programs, just go check out my username found here. :mrgreen:

Level 15 Human Jack-of-all-trades
Alignment: Chaotic good
Location: The Void
Posted on August 18, 2005 at 11:56 am

Harmless:

This is a message I got from a TM player running Xandros Linux

"
Title is Windows games and cdroms.

Hello,

This worked for me; hopefully, it will help someone else.

[note0]
In trying to get "unsupported" window applications to
run in CodeWeavers CrossOver Office included with my copy
of Xandros v2 Deluxe Edition. Specifically, the
windows game, TreadMarks by LDA. I ran into the problem
that the game would install properly; I could start the
game; but it refused to see the cd in the cdrom drive.
Also, mounting the cdrom from the console did not solve the
problem either.

This is how I fixed it for me...


[note1]
In your user home directory, there is the "config" file
for CrossOver Office:

(home-directory)/.cxoffice/dotwine/config

This "config" file is where you make 2 additions.

[note2]
At the bottom of the "config" file, I added the following
lines just so the game would start up:

;
; CrossOver Game Support
;
[AppDefaults\\TM.exe\\x11drv]
; TreadMarks by LongBow Digital Arts
"Desktop" = "1024x768"
"Managed" = "N"


[note3]
The TreadMarks game now starts, but the game cd in the cdrom
drive is not recognized, despite mounting the cdrom drive
from the root console.

At the top of the "config" file, I added the following lines
so that the windows game cd would be recognized:

[Drive D]
"Path" = "/mnt/cdrom0"
"Type" = "cdrom"
"Label" = "cdrom"
"Filesystem" = "win95"
"Codepage" = "0"


[note4]
This is how the top of my "config" file looks now:

WINE REGISTRY Version 2
;; All keys relative to \\Machine\\Software\\Wine\\Wine\\Config

;;
;; MS-DOS drives configuration
;;
;; Each section has the following format:
;; [Drive X]
;; "Path"="xxx" (Unix path for drive root)
;; "Type"="xxx" (supported types are 'floppy', 'hd', 'cdrom' and 'network')
;; "Label"="xxx" (drive label, at most 11 characters)
;; "Serial"="xxx" (serial number, 8 characters hexadecimal number)
;; "Filesystem"="xxx" (supported types are 'msdos'/'dos'/'fat', 'win95'/'vfat', 'unix')
;; This is the FS Wine is supposed to emulate on a certain
;; directory structure.
;; Recommended:
;; - "win95" for ext2fs, VFAT and FAT32
;; - "msdos" for FAT16 (ugly, upgrading to VFAT driver strongly recommended)
;; DON'T use "unix" unless you intend to port programs using Winelib !
;; "Device"="/dev/xx" (only if you want to allow raw device access)
;;

[Drive C]
"Path" = "fake_windows"
"Type" = "hd"
"Label" = "fake_windows"
"Filesystem" = "win95"
"Codepage" = "0"

[Drive D]
"Path" = "/mnt/cdrom0"
"Type" = "cdrom"
"Label" = "cdrom"
"Filesystem" = "win95"
"Codepage" = "0"

[Drive Y]
"Path" = "%HOME%"
"Type" = "%CXOFFICE_DRIVE_TYPE_HACK%"
"Label" = "Home"
"Filesystem" = "win95"
"Codepage" = "0"

[Drive Z]
"Path" = "/"
"Type" = "%CXOFFICE_DRIVE_TYPE_HACK%"
"Label" = "Root"
"Filesystem" = "win95"
"Codepage" = "0"



[note5]
Now, when the game asks for the cd in the cdrom drive,
I open a root console and type the following:

mount /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom0

The response I get is:

mount: block device /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 is write-protected, mounting read-only

Now I can click OK to the prompt from the game, the
cd is properly recognized, and I can play my TreadMarks game.

Also, don't forget to unmount the cdrom drive when you are done.

umount /dev/cdroms/cdrom0 /mnt/cdrom0

This is the response I get:
umount: /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/cd: not mounted
umount: /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/cd: not mounted

Also, once you type the mount and umount commands once, they
are in the console command history, so you can use the up and
down arrow keys to get to them again.

[note6]
This has worked for me with TreadMarks v1.0.1, TreadMarks v1.6,
http://www.treadmarks.com/ and PrintMaster Publishing Suite7.

So with those 2 additions to the "config" file, one at the top
for the cdrom drive, Drive D, and one at the bottom for the game:

* I open a root console, and type in the password
* I stick the cd in the cdrom drive,
* I dismiss the initial CodeWeavers install screen
* I start my windows game from the Xandros Start Menu
* The game asks for the cd in the cdrom drive
* I switch to the root console, and mount the cdrom drive
* I click OK to the game's "insert CD" prompt
* And away I go into TreadMarks bliss :)

[note7]
This is with Xandros v2 Deluxe Edition, that includes CodeWeavers
Crossover Office v2.1, and a successful installation of the game
by crossover so that the application default path is where crossover
expects it to be...
(home-directory)/.cxoffice/dotwine/fake_windows/Program Files
I suppose one could always copy the Program Files Folder from a working
windows computer to this default path and see if the game works.

[note8]
I hope this is useful to someone, somewhere.
Michael Hallsted
January 19th, 2004
"

http://www.xandros.com

Some shots of WinApps running on Xandros

http://www.hallsted.net/linux-screenshots/linux-screenshots-index.html

Level 14 Human bookkeeper
Alignment: True neutral
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posted on August 18, 2005 at 10:51 pm

thanks ! i have xandros v3, so i'll play around with it.
should work the same.

Level 13 Human gamer
Alignment: True neutral
Posted on August 20, 2005 at 2:15 am

sounds about right :?

Level 13 Human Unaffiliated Game Maker
Alignment: Chaotic
Location: England
Posted on September 5, 2005 at 5:22 pm

My sister's geeja ( ok i can't spell it) pet (sometimes called a tamagotchi) once got a virus and it was unfixable! :lol:

Level 14 Human bookkeeper
Alignment: True neutral
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posted on September 14, 2005 at 8:29 pm

well, it's been a month, and i do feel better. i have even turned on my spare windows computer a couple of times. basically, it's main purpose is for playing treadmarks online the 2nd and 4th sundays of each month :)

since i've been using my iMac now, exclusively, just a couple of obsevations for anyone who is not familiar with macs....

these are the 2 things i like best about macs over windows.

first and foremost... there is no bloody registry. it might have seemed like a good idea, but it is so convoluted and complicated, barely anyone truly understands it. hose the registry and you hose windows.

second, installing and uninstalling programs...
this is true for the vast majority of mac software programs... to install a program, it is just a matter of dragging and dropping the application pretty much where ever it pleases you. to uninstall the program, you just delete it. simple, easy, sane. there is no DLL conflicts, no programs copying system files to system folders for the 100th time, programs do not install themselves a little bit here a little bit there and make entries in the registry here and there.... upgrading programs is just as easy, download the new version of the program, and you copy it over the old version. i've upgraded firefox, mozilla, thunderbird, cd burning programs, ftp programs, and others simply by copying the new version on top of the old version.

for these 2 reasons alone, i'm glad i made the switch. one can actually try out an endless amount of programs and know that it won't mess up the computer to a point where one would be forced to reinstall windows just to get a clean slate again. and once the intel/macs come out, codeweavers crossover office will be supported, allowing one to natively run windows applications on a mac... so this time next year, i should be able play treadmarks on my new intel/mac.

toodles,
harmless
:)

Level 14 Human gamer
Alignment: True neutral
Posted on September 16, 2005 at 8:17 am

second, installing and uninstalling programs...
this is true for the vast majority of mac software programs... to install a program, it is just a matter of dragging and dropping the application pretty much where ever it pleases you. to uninstall the program, you just delete it. simple, easy, sane. there is no DLL conflicts, no programs copying system files to system folders for the 100th time, programs do not install themselves a little bit here a little bit there and make entries in the registry here and there.... upgrading programs is just as easy, download the new version of the program, and you copy it over the old version. i've upgraded firefox, mozilla, thunderbird, cd burning programs, ftp programs, and others simply by copying the new version on top of the old version.


Couldn't been better! With arguments like this, Windows is heavily owned. (Mind you, I use Windows myself).

Level 14 Human bookkeeper
Alignment: True neutral
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posted on November 15, 2006 at 2:14 am

once the intel/macs come out, codeweavers crossover office will be supported, allowing one to natively run windows applications on a mac... so this time next year, i should be able play treadmarks on my new intel/mac.

just thought i would update this... :) ok, so i was off by 2 months :)

just got a new 24 intel imac, got the beta3 of codeweaver's crossover for the mac, and i couldn't be happier !! treadmarks v1.0.1 and v1.6 install and play beautifully on it. one needs to go in and reconfigure the keyboard keys used, but other than that... TM runs very smoothly. i've been playing the xmas mod pack with 16 ai's roaming around and everything just works!

very cool indeed!

toodles,
harmless
:)

Level 14 Human bookkeeper
Alignment: True neutral
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posted on November 16, 2006 at 3:03 am

a couple of last impressions abut the imac and crossover and TM...
i just finished playing a couple of single games at 1600x1200 full screen with no lag issues at all. and the apple built in screen capture utility takes screen shots of TM in action, full screen, just fine. i'm happy :)

Level 15 Human Jack-of-all-trades
Alignment: Chaotic good
Location: The Void
Posted on November 18, 2006 at 12:33 am

OK, so how does it play on Dinochrome?

Level 14 Human bookkeeper
Alignment: True neutral
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posted on November 18, 2006 at 3:33 am

don't know, i've never played dinochrome.
so i can be lazy, do you have a link handy for the mods?

Level 14 Human bookkeeper
Alignment: True neutral
Location: Sacramento, CA, USA
Posted on November 23, 2006 at 1:25 am

the imac plays just fine on dinochrome
:) i stopped being lazy and got the mods :)

Level 14 Human gamer
Alignment: True neutral
Posted on December 8, 2006 at 12:17 am

:( Wow Widows really has it's problems I know...but harmless that is a sacry story about that virus.....to a novice I was shaking....oh what would I do if that curse jump on my machine !..... :idea: BUY A MAC !

Glad your back playing we need you! :lol: