Skip navigation

A Simple Request: Modding, and How-To

Forum NavigationHome > Forum Index > Tread Marks > A Simple Request: Modding, and How-To
Level 8 Human Programmer
Alignment: Chaotic
Posted on December 9, 2010 at 5:08 pm

Recently just got a copy of Tread Marks and been playing it ever since. I learned of its 'Mod-ablity' through some friends, and I have amazing ideas I would like to test out. I wish to make weapons, tanks, and new levels.
Basically, here is the question I'm sure someone has already answered. Can some1 link me a 'How To' guide on making these ideas real?

Level 13 Human bookkeeper
Alignment: True neutral
Posted on December 10, 2010 at 2:24 am

howdy and welcome!

this is a good first introduction:
http://www.longbowgames.com/treadmarks/mods/

i don't mod, i'm just a pack rat. as such, i've been collecting "stuff" related to treadmarks for close to 10 years now...

i'm sure other people will chime in, but here are a couple of old posts ... from some where ... to get you started:

+ + + + + + + + + + + + +
+ + + + + + + + + + + + +

Could you give me some tips on making a tank?

Except for the Mite the tank stats were kept the same to help keep racing fair. Of course this doesn't apply much now that TM is becoming more focussed on deathmatch.

Mass determines how much the environment effects the tank...splash push....and is the key difference between liquid and steel tanks.

Top speed is not a fixed limit....It can be exceeded going down hill.

Add acceleration if your tank is too slow on hills or you are setting gravity higher... to try for that WWII tank combat effect.

Armor is simply armor/hit points but with a damage gradient from front to rear .

Now that's pretty sketchy, so I'll comment on what creates the subtle differences that you observe.

All other stats being the same, it's the tank shape that counts.