Skip navigation

Treadmarks screen mode selector

Forum NavigationHome > Forum Index > Tread Marks > Treadmarks screen mode selector
Level 14 Human Sr Code Monkey
Alignment: Chaotic
Location: lost in the evil lands, of soccer-mom piloted minivans....
Posted on May 17, 2010 at 9:49 pm

I updated the screen mode selector to work in vista/Windows 7 + latest DirectX. Grab it from here if you need it:
Vista version

The older winxp version is here:
XP Version

Level 12 Human Writer & Computer Consultant
Alignment: Good
Location: Somewhere between the Havens and the Pits
Posted on May 18, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Much appreciated. I wonder how Tread Marks will run in 1366x768! ROFL (probably will HATE it)

Level 14 Human Sr Code Monkey
Alignment: Chaotic
Location: lost in the evil lands, of soccer-mom piloted minivans....
Posted on May 18, 2010 at 6:00 pm

It runs quite well. Thats the resolution I use. :)

Level 14 Human Shadow
Alignment: Chaotic good
Location: Earth Orbit, Preparing to Attack
Posted on May 20, 2010 at 6:31 am

I'm personally using 1680x973 and it works fine :)

TM is great with nonstandard resolutions.

Level 12 Human Writer & Computer Consultant
Alignment: Good
Location: Somewhere between the Havens and the Pits
Posted on May 20, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Now, why is that? I mean, I'm getting 10-15 more frames/second at 1366x768 than I did at 1024x768. This makes no sense, since the game has to shove more data to the video system. But hey, it's cool all the same.

Level 10 Human gamer
Alignment: Lawful
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posted on May 31, 2010 at 1:13 am

Does that work the same for filming? I will have to try it.

Level 14 Human Sr Code Monkey
Alignment: Chaotic
Location: lost in the evil lands, of soccer-mom piloted minivans....
Posted on May 31, 2010 at 10:18 pm

Its probably because with an LCD screen, the optimum resolution is the LCD's native resolution. Running a screen mode different than the LCD native resolution may cause the hardware to scale the image up or down, putting an additional load on the graphics card. the reason I say "may" is because the LCD screen can show other resolutions, but the ones it can't will need to scale it up to nearest one.