Skip navigation

Treadmarks screen mode selector

Forum NavigationHome > Forum Index > Tread Marks > Treadmarks screen mode selector
Level 14 Human Sr Code Monkey
Alignment: Chaotic
Location: lost in the evil lands, of soccer-mom piloted minivans....
Posted on May 17, 2010 at 9:49 pm

I updated the screen mode selector to work in vista/Windows 7 + latest DirectX. Grab it from here if you need it:
Vista version

The older winxp version is here:
XP Version

Level 12 Human Writer & Computer Consultant
Alignment: Good
Location: Somewhere between the Havens and the Pits
Posted on May 18, 2010 at 12:02 pm

Much appreciated. I wonder how Tread Marks will run in 1366x768! ROFL (probably will HATE it)

Level 14 Human Sr Code Monkey
Alignment: Chaotic
Location: lost in the evil lands, of soccer-mom piloted minivans....
Posted on May 18, 2010 at 6:00 pm

It runs quite well. Thats the resolution I use. :)

Level 14 Human Shadow
Alignment: Chaotic good
Location: Earth Orbit, Preparing to Attack
Posted on May 20, 2010 at 6:31 am

I'm personally using 1680x973 and it works fine :)

TM is great with nonstandard resolutions.

Level 12 Human Writer & Computer Consultant
Alignment: Good
Location: Somewhere between the Havens and the Pits
Posted on May 20, 2010 at 5:04 pm

Now, why is that? I mean, I'm getting 10-15 more frames/second at 1366x768 than I did at 1024x768. This makes no sense, since the game has to shove more data to the video system. But hey, it's cool all the same.

Level 9 Human gamer
Alignment: Lawful
Location: Berkeley, CA
Posted on May 31, 2010 at 1:13 am

Does that work the same for filming? I will have to try it.

Level 14 Human Sr Code Monkey
Alignment: Chaotic
Location: lost in the evil lands, of soccer-mom piloted minivans....
Posted on May 31, 2010 at 10:18 pm

Its probably because with an LCD screen, the optimum resolution is the LCD's native resolution. Running a screen mode different than the LCD native resolution may cause the hardware to scale the image up or down, putting an additional load on the graphics card. the reason I say "may" is because the LCD screen can show other resolutions, but the ones it can't will need to scale it up to nearest one.