|
Author Topic:   How 2 make texturs and meshes
Big Cheez
posted January 25, 2004 06:37 AM            
How do u make textures/meshes/explosions/sparks 4 weapons/projectiles/weapon hits etc?

IP:

Blue n Gold Sue
posted January 25, 2004 05:37 PM            
I highly recommend reading the EEK (entity entry key) found HERE. You might have to log on as a Yahoo groups member, but since I am, the link works for me.
I'm not a modder (yet ) but I do understand that TM controls these things by the ents. The above document explains what to do to control things. Good luck and welcome!

IP:

KONG
posted January 25, 2004 06:57 PM            
or here

BZRPG

[This message has been edited by KONG (edited January 25, 2004).]

IP:

Big Cheez
posted January 26, 2004 06:05 AM            
I mean the actual shapes and textures of weapons. (Sorry if im being annoying but im a total newbie!)

IP:

=DNX= Matrix
posted January 26, 2004 10:37 AM            
We use MILKSHAPE to make meshes, LITHUNWRAP to get a skinfile, and a paint package (i use photoshop myself) to create the meshes skin.

Sprites are created just in a paint package, BMP or IMG format ... BMP is static, IMG is a multi frame/image like a tree, these requre a program called DXIMAGE.

Hope that answers your question.

IP:

Big Cheez
posted January 27, 2004 05:54 AM            
What file extension do you save meshes with?

IP:

=DNX= Matrix
posted January 27, 2004 08:54 AM            
They are Lightwave objects bud .LWO extension.

IP:

Big Cheez
posted January 27, 2004 04:35 PM            
Thanx.

IP:

=DNX= Matrix
posted January 27, 2004 09:02 PM            
I should add, they are single sided polys too, work around 800 ..... no nurbs or double sided stuff, it would lag like mad. Thats why milkshape, its perfect for it. It can be done in softimage or 3ds max or blender if u have the skills ... i dont.

IP:

Big Cheez
posted January 28, 2004 05:55 AM