|
Author Topic:   Random Problems
Neo
posted December 21, 2001 10:26 PM            
...I have Win98se and:

1) When I run defrag, it tells me: "windows cannot defragment this drive because it contains errors that must first be repaired". So I run scandisk, which restarts an infinite number of times even when all other progs have been exited/closed. So I run scandisk in MSDOS and it comes up with "scandisk did not find any errors on this drive".

wtf?!

2) Now my browser won't access the uconn website, one of the few websites that I go to regularly other than this one (since I am a UConn student). Loads every other site, just not www.uconn.edu. wtf?! The site loads on my dad's Macintosh Powerbook, so it doesn't have anything to do with the server, though it did load like molasses in February.

3) My email app (outlook) won't load my UConn email, either! Since this is the only email addy I use, this is bad news for me.

I run Norton fairly often and it never comes up with anything, plus I run a firewall at all times, so I don't think its a virus or anything. Reinstalled IE to version 5 and still had same trouble. any ideas? anyone?

IP:

STJR64
posted December 22, 2001 12:32 AM            
You sure you don't have any viruses? You might want to check that again...
To run ScanDisk in a most efficient way--use the Ctrl+Alt+Delete command to close every program except Explorer, then run Scandisk, it should work.
I've never used Norton for AntiVirus stuff, I use McAfee, so I can't really help you there.
I tried accessing that site, and it came up like a flash, I can think of only 1 thing that could be wrong--if you are using your Favorites folder to access the site, try updating your links, maybe they got screwed up somehow. Or just type the site into your address bar. I'm sure you've already tried that but I'm suggesting everything I can think of.