|
Author Topic:   1st Multiplayer Game
Rooster
posted January 19, 2003 02:33 PM            
Played my 1st online multiplayer game today,this stuff is GREAT!I'm new to this stuff can someone tell me if there's a way to stop the screen from stalling so much?

IP:

swisher
posted January 19, 2003 03:27 PM            
This depends somewhat on your connection type: DSL/Cable/Dial-up.

If you are dial-up, then definately set your NetRate to 2K. This is done by starting Tread Marks, and then clicking Game Options/Miscellaneous/NetRate. Clicking NetRate repeatedly cause the rate to cycle amoung all of the options.

Even if you have DSL or Cable, give this a try. I have DSL and run at 2K and seldom see lag (aka, stalling). I think I played with you today, and there were only 6 of us online. Generally, the LDA server can handle this many without any lag.

Another thing to try always is simply disconnecting and then reconnecting. Perhaps even your internet connection (by doing a system reboot if necessary).

Hope this helps, and WELCOME aboard to the Tread Marks community!

------------------
Swisher - Check out ENTegrety for mods.
BWL/MG

[This message has been edited by swisher (edited January 19, 2003).]

IP:

posted January 19, 2003 03:31 PM            
Welcome to the TM community Rooster. The stalling is what we call lag. The best way to address the lag problem is to lower the game option setting. Just play with lowering the different setting till you get a non lagging game. you might want to just start with halving all the setting. It will also depend on if you are on dial up, dsl, or cable modem. Dialup being the worst. And then it depends on what is happening at the individual servers. The armageddon server will give anyone lag due to all the info the TM engine must keep track of...but it is fun.

So enjoy...until then...

------------------
Play Hard...Play Fair...See You Online

IP:

swisher
posted January 19, 2003 04:01 PM