This topic is 2 pages long:   1  2  |
Author Topic:   The Camera in TM 1.5+
kleenfreek
posted January 27, 2001 04:41 AM            
I'd just like to say a little something...

I've been a TM player since early 1.0. I have evangelized this game, pleaded with others to try it, and generally considered it one of the strongest titles to be released in the past 3 years.

I work in the industry and am a pretty hardcore game player. Lotsa hours spent playing Counterstrike, Quake, and so on.

So it pains and confuses me as to why the traditional camera modes of TM 1.0 were abandoned in favor of these supposedly "better" modes in 1.5.

As a beta tester of 1.5 I tried to make my voice heard on this issue but apparently not too many others agreed. At this point, I never play the game any more for two reasons...

1. Because my time invested learning how to play TM 1.0 has been negated.

2. More importantly, because the more dramatic FOV shifts and general lack of viewing freedom presented in 1.5 makes me physically ill. I'm not just saying that because it annoys me... I'm talking about motion sickness.

So my plea is such... Although I may be in the minority in requesting the the old Funky camera mode be re-enabled, I think it's by far the most natural way to play the game. Simplicity had always been the hallmark of Treadmarks, and having to manage the turret separately from the view, separately from the treads is one layer too many. Seumas' original solution for catering to the FPS crowd by having the turret follow the view as fast as it could was simply brilliant. Most people have the ability to visually determine the direction of their shot based on which way the turret is pointing, even if it isn't towards the middle of their screen.

So how about it LDA? I'm not saying make the old modes the default again... I'm just crying for a toggle to turn on the old camera modes again. As of right now, I fire up 1.0 occasionally and have shelved 1.5.