|
Author Topic:   Tom :)
GoldAnt_Number1
posted January 23, 2001 12:54 AM            
Hey i was just wondering on windows 98 how would u put a password on a folder? and also a thing so the folder can't be delted without a password. And u can't delete the stuff inside without a password? My sister is going crazy now she delted TM n a few other thingys into and outa the recycle bin

------------------
:^) Can't forget those smileys with big nose's at the bottem now can we :^)

IP:

coax
Administrator
posted January 23, 2001 01:01 AM            
there are a bunch of recovery programs, that could be use to recover deleted programs. In case she does it again. I'm not good with security since i live alone and my room mate knows nothing about computers, took me an hour to show him how to use an e-mail account.

------------------
Biography Website

IP:

Vlad
posted January 23, 2001 09:47 AM            
I don't think there's a native function of Windows that allows password protection of files, but I believe Norton Your Eyes Only is designed to do that. Heck, you may be able to find something on winfiles or tucows that lets you do it.

IP:

peeeto
posted January 23, 2001 11:22 AM         
what about selecting the folder, sub-folders & contents & setting the attribute to "read only"?

IP:

Vlad
posted January 23, 2001 01:14 PM            
Good idea, but that's may create a problem if treadmarks needs to write any files to the folder or anything...

IP:

GoldAnt_Number1
posted January 23, 2001 07:56 PM            
i already installed it again. Hey where could i get one of those undelte proggys?

------------------

IP:

Rex R
posted January 24, 2001 02:15 AM            
just a thought, but you could remove the shortcut to the recycle bin from the desktop.
that would make it more difficult to empty.

IP:

coax
Administrator
posted January 24, 2001 12:33 PM